What time does the Indy 500 start today? Full schedule & lineup for the 2022 race in Indianapolis – Sporting News

Sunday is set to be the biggest day on the racing calendar in 2022. F1 will run its Monaco Grand Prix to start the day. NASCAR’s Coca Cola 600 will close the day at Charlotte Motor Speedway.
And between the two of them will be the 2022 Indy 500.
Nicknamed “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing,” the Indy 500 is set to have a stacked field in 2022 and plenty of stories to watch. Scott Dixon won the pole for the second consecutive year and is hoping to earn his first victory since his win at the 2008 Indy 500.
Meanwhile, last year’s champion Helio Castroneves will get a chance to win the race for the fifth time. That would set the all-time record for most Indy 500 wins. However, he’ll have to beat an imposing field of drivers that includes former champions like Takuma Soto, Will Power and Juan Pablo Montoya.
Below is all the information you need to follow the schedule of the 2022 Indy 500, including the broadcast info for the race and more.
MORE: Watch today’s Indy 500 live on fuboTV (free trial)
Coverage of the 2022 Indy 500 will begin at 11 a.m. ET on NBC. In years past, coverage of “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” began on NBC Sports Network, but that channel no longer exists.
Coverage of the Indy 500 will run from approximately 11 a.m. ET through 4 p.m. ET on NBC. It will also be available to stream for those with cable on NBCSports.com. NBC’s streaming service, Peacock, will also carry the event and so too will fuboTV, which comes with a free trial.
There is always a lot of build-up to the Indy 500 thanks to the pre-race qualifying and other events. Those are mostly in the books at this point, so racing fans will begin to shift their focus in full to the actual race.
Those going to see the Indy 500 live will be able to gain entrance to the event at 6 a.m. ET. From there, they will wait an hour and a half before the cars are moved to the frontstretch fo the course. At 11:47, driver introductions will begin along with the other pre-race festivities like the National Anthem and the performance of “Back Home Again in Indiana.”
Here is the complete schedule of Sunday’s coverage: 
MORE: Best bets to win the Indy 500 in 2022
Scott Dixon will be the pole-sitter at the Indy 500 for the second consecutive year after a record-setting qualifying speed of over 234 mph. That speed is the fastest ever run in qualifying for the Indy 500.
Alex Palou, Rinus VeeKay, Ed Carpenter and Marcus Ericcson will start in the top five along with Dixon. Last year’s winner Helio Castroneves, meanwhile, will start 27th out of the 33 drivers in the field.
Below is a look at the full, 33-car starting lineup for the 2022 Indy 500.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like